Northern Territory Government Newsroom

2019 Arts NT Varuna Residential Fellowships Awarded

The 2019 Arts NT Varuna Residential Fellowships for NT writers and illustrators have been awarded to Sam Carmody, Mhairi Duncan, Gretel Bull and Biddy O’Loughlin. 

Now in its third year, the Varuna Residential Fellowships supported by the Northern Territory Government provides support to two Top End and two Central Desert based writers and illustrators developing new works.   

The 2019 Arts NT Varuna Residential Fellowship recipients’ projects include: 

The fellowships include a two-week residency at Varuna, The National Writers’ House, in the Blue Mountains of NSW, providing uninterrupted time to write in the company of fellow writers, and access to one on one support, national consultants, networks and resources. 

Residencies are to be undertaken between July and December 2019.

For more information about Arts Grants, visit

For more information on Varuna, The National Writers’ House visit

Quote from Department of Tourism, Sport and Culture, Director of Arts NT Angela Hill

“Congratulations to our NT writers, I encourage you all to maximise this national professional development opportunity and the residency at Varuna provides the inspiration and environment to develop your literary works.”

Quote from Varuna, The National Writers’ House Amy Sambrooke:

“We are delighted to be welcoming four great NT writers to further develop their creative works at Varuna in 2019, thanks to the generous support of the Northern Territory Government.

“We recognise that the NT has such a vibrant community of writers and creatives, and it’s really exciting that the four recipients are working on such compelling and valuable projects across poetry, film, short stories and literary fiction.”

Media Contact

Department of Tourism, Sport and Culture 0447 130 495
Varuna Creative Director Amy Sambrooke (02) 4782 5674