Skip to main content

Hotspots declared across Greater Metropolitan Melbourne

Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet

The Chief Health Officer has declared a hotspot for local government and unincorporated areas in Greater Metropolitan Melbourne for the purposes of travel to the Northern Territory effective at 7.30pm on 5 August 2021.


The hotspot locations are the Local Government Areas of:

Banyule City      

Bayside City       

Boroondara City               

Brimbank City   

Cardinia Shire   

Casey City            

Darebin City      

Frankston City  

Glen Eira City    

Greater Dandenong City               

Hobsons Bay City             

Hume City          

Kingston City     

Knox City            

Manningham City            

Maribyrnong City            

Maroondah City               

Melbourne City

Melton City        

Monash City      

Moonee Valley City        

Moreland City   

Mornington Peninsula Shire       

Nillumbik Shire 

Port Phillip City

Stonnington City              

Whitehorse City                

Whittlesea City

Wyndham City  

Yarra City            

Yarra Ranges Shire          


Unincorporated Area:     

French-Elizabeth-Sandstone Islands


Anyone who has been in Greater Metropolitan Melbourne since 27 July 2021 who arrives in the Northern Territory after 7.30pm on 5 August 2021 will be required to undertake 14 days of mandatory supervised quarantine at the Alice Springs or Howard Springs quarantine facilities.

Anyone who has been in Greater Metropolitan Melbourne since 27 July 2021 who is already in the Northern Territory must check the Victorian exposure sites website daily and follow the quarantine and testing directions already in place and listed on the NT COVID-19 website.

There are a number of public exposure directions listed on the NT COVID-19 website. Public exposure sites continue to change and it is important that those people who have arrived in the Northern Territory from interstate check their state’s health website daily to review the list of public exposure sites and comply with the directions.

A list of declared COVID-19 hotspots can be found on the NT COVID-19 website at

To book a COVID-19 test, contact the COVID-19 Hotline on 1800 490 484 or book online at

The Chief Health Officer will continue to review and assess the COVID-19 situation across Australia, and will take into account COVID-19 monitoring and data collection, the extent of community transmission and risks to the NT community.

The risk of COVID-19 in our communities cannot be eliminated which is why it is important for everyone to follow all health directions and vaccinations for all those eligible.

·         Book your COVID-19 vaccine

·         Check in using The Territory Check In App every time, everywhere

·         If you have symptoms, stay away from others and get tested for COVID-19

·         Wash your hands with soap and water and use hand sanitiser regularly

·         Do not go to work if you feel sick

·         Maintain a physical distance of 1.5 metres where possible


 Quotes from Chief Health Officer Hugh Heggie

“This is now our third state that has lockdown restrictions in place as COVID-19 continues to spread across Australia.

“The Delta strain of COVID-19 is more infectious and these conditions are in place to help keep our community safe.

“The vaccine is the best prevention we have against the virus, and I urge you to book your Covid-19 vaccine online now.

--> --> --> --> --> -->