Skip to main content

COVID-19 Update: QLD &WA hotspots declared

Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet

The Chief Health Officer has declared hotspots in Queensland and Western Australia to protect Territorians from COVID-19 outbreaks occurring in other states.


The Chief Health Officer has declared the following Queensland Local Government Areas as hotspots for the purposes of travel to the NT from 5.30pm on 29 June 2021.

·         City of Brisbane

·         City of Gold Coast

·         City of Ipswich

·         Lockyer Valley Regional Council

·         Logan City

·         Moreton Bay Region

·         Noosa Shire Council

·         Redland City

·         Scenic Rim Regional Council

·         Somerset Regional Council

·         Sunshine Coast Regional Council

·         Aboriginal Shire of Palm Island

·         City of Townsville

There are also testing and quarantine Directions in place for people who have been to a COVID-19 public exposure site in Queensland. More information is available at:

Western Australia:

The Chief health Officer has also declared the Perth Metropolitan Region and the Peel Region in Western Australia as COVID-19 Hotspots for the purposes of travel to the Northern Territory from 11am on 29 June 2021.

Anyone travelling to the Northern Territory from a COVID-19 Hotspot and who arrives after the hotspot declaration must undertake 14 days of mandatory, supervised quarantine at the Alice Springs or Howard Springs quarantine facilities.

The Chief Health Officer has also put into place a number of testing and quarantine directions for people who arrived in the Northern Territory from WA since 22 June 2021.

Anyone who has been to a Western Australia public exposure site must follow the directions specified with the location visited until directed otherwise. These are listed on the WA Department of Health Website and include:

  • Must immediately get tested and undertake 14 days of self-quarantine in their home or at a suitable place. The person must remain in quarantine (unless to get tested) until noon of the 14th day after they were at the exposure site, regardless of returning a negative COVID-19 test or not.
  • Must immediately self-quarantine, get a COVID-19 test and remain in quarantine until a negative test is returned.
  • Must monitor for symptoms and get tested if any arise.

Testing and quarantine directions remain in place for New South Wales Victoria, Queensland and the Australian Capital Territory. A list of public exposure sites can be found at:

·         New South Wales:

·         Victoria:

·         Australian Capital Territory:

To arrange a COVID-19 test, please book online at or contact the COVID-19 Hotline on 1800 490 484.

For more information on COVID-19 Australian hotspot and travel restrictions visit:

The Chief Health Officer will continue to review and assess the COVID-19 situation across Australia, and will take into account COVID-19 monitoring and data collection, the extent of community transmission and risks to the NT community.

The risk of COVID-19 in our communities cannot be eliminated which is why it is important for everyone to follow all health directions.

·         Book your COVID-19 vaccine at

·         If you have symptoms, stay away from others and get tested for COVID-19.

·         Wash your hands with soap and water and use hand sanitiser regularly.

·         Do not go to work if you feel sick.

·         Maintain a physical distance of 1.5 metres where possible.

To stay up to date with the latest information visit

Lockdown Hotline 180 193 111

COVID Hotline 1800 490 484