Northern Territory Government Newsroom

Arts Residencies and Arts Fellowships available for NT's arts community

The Northern Territory Government is offering funding for arts residencies at three of the Department of Tourism and Culture’s cultural venues.

Applications are now invited to the Creative in Residence Program which offers up to $30 000 per residency for artists to work with the:

Department of Tourism and Culture, Director of Arts NT, Angela Hill said the Creative in Residence program provides artists with key funding to create new work by exploring these cultural venues and their collections.

“The objective of this exceptional opportunity is to creatively activate NT’s cultural venues and increase community awareness of NT’s unique cultural collections,” said Ms Hill.

“Artists are working openly in the venues, which creates new experiences for the Northern Territory community and provides an insight on what inspires making art.”

Currently 2018 Northern Territory Library creative in residence Cj Fraser-Bell offers a series of Zine making sessions, while ceramicist Melanie Robson explores the relationship between place, cartography and personal narrative with mapping workshops coming up in November at the Araluen Cultural Precinct.

“Artists across all art forms are invited to apply for the residencies at the Northern Territory Archives Service and the Northern Territory Library, whereas the Araluen Cultural Precinct seeks a visual artist who will present an exhibition at the end of the residency.”

Applications to the Creative in Residence Program can be made online and will close on 10 December 2018.

Established Territory artists and arts workers are also invited to consider applying for four Arts Fellowships offered through the Northern Territory Arts Grants Program.

“Territory artists and arts workers with a minimum of six years professional arts practice in the NT across all art forms can apply for $50 000 towards significant career development opportunities.”

The inaugural 2017-18 Arts Fellowships were awarded to Ms Mary Anne Butler, Ms Johanna Bell, Ms Karen Mills, all from Darwin, and Ms Elliat Rich from Alice Springs.

The 2018-19 Arts Fellowship Program will open on Monday, 5 November 2019, and applications can be made online until 1 March 2019.

To learn more or to apply, visit

Media Contact: Department of Tourism and Culture Media Officer 0447 130 495